After a break in his victory strike at Indianapolis, Simon Pagenaud claimed his third pole position of the season at Detroit, 0.011s ahead of Helio Castroneves, Juan Pablo Montoya completes Penske top 3.

After dominating morning practice, Will Power hit the wall in Q1 but never was able to reach Firestone Fast Six session. The Australian driver goes lone Penske on 9th spot while his three teammates seal top 3 spots.

Canadian James Hinchcliffe will start 4th and first non-Penske car ahead of Carlos Munoz’s Andretti Autosport. Behind them stand three Ganassi lead by reigning champion Scott Dixon, then Tony Kanaan and Charlie Kimball. Graham Rahal completes top 10.

The surprise came from Indianapolis 500 miles’ podium drivers such as Alexander Rossi and Josef Newgarden who failed to escape Q1.