Will Power converts his P1 Verizon Award to a victory on the ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 at the Milwaukee Mile. His teammate, Juan Pablo Montoya finished second, and Tony Kanaan puts his Target Chip Ganassi car in the last podium position.  

The ABC Supply Wisconsin 250 at the Milwaukee Mile starts with will Power and Tony Kanaan at the front row.  Power kept the first place when the first lap was completed, Kanaan was second and Montoya third. Ryan Briscoe running in that moment on fourth place completed a top 4 Chevy cars.

Hunter-Reay came back from 19th at the start, running 13th at lap 13. The 2012 champ, overtook also a 2014 title contender, Simon Pagenaud for 12th place.

At lap 31, the leader of the race, Will Power had started to double some drivers from the back of the field.

At lap 50, Power led the race followed by Kanaan, Montoya, Briscoe, Newgarden, Castroneves, Carpenter, Kimball, Andretti and Dixon. Simon Pagenaud was the first of the race to change the tires. Then Hunter-Reay, Hawksworth, Muñoz and all the following drivers had stop in the pits. The leader of the race stopped at lap 57, and a lap later Monotya stops at pits having a contact with his new tires to change. Ed Carpenter was the last driver to change his tires.

Power continues in the leading of the race but Kanaan had battle so hard for that place, with nothing to do because the Team Penske driver had defend from outside. Briscoe took third place after Montoya pit problem. Castroneves was fifth followed by Hunter-Reay already on sixth place.

Carlos Huertas seems to have some mechanicals problems but the Houston Race 1 winner, kept in the track. Castroneves had lost his fifth place after being overtaken by Hunter-Reay and Newgarden.

Pagenaud was once again the first to do the second stop. This time, Power was the last driver to change his tires. Even this Championship leader had a good pace, but at lap 120 his tires goes down and he stops rapidly, and Kanaan took the leadership of the race by two seconds over Power, 5 seconds behind of Power was Briscoe on third place and Dixon on fourth.

At lap 131 the first caution came out after a contact of Carlos Muñoz into the barrier.  Power, Newgraden and Andretti when the pit were open they didn’t stop like the other drivers. Thus means that Power came back to the leadership of the race followed by Newgarden, Andretti, Kanaan, Montoya, Dixon, Briscoe, Castroneves, Pagenaud and Bourdais.

The green flag come back at lap 140; Kanaan quickly came back to second place, and Montoya also come back to the last podium place after overtook Newgarden at lap 147.

At lap 168, Hunter-Reay running in 11th place, had a mechanical and had to retire of the race and it hurts for his championship hopes for the Indy 500 winner.

At lap 183 Josef Newgarden was the first to do the following tire change. Power stops 7 laps later, Kanaan on 190 lap, and Montoya on a lap later of Kanaan.

So, Power kept on the lead, Newgarden took second place and Montoya third after last pit stop. Kanaan was fourth.  With 48 laps to go Montoya overtook Newgarden for second place, but Power had a big distance to kept leading the race.

Newgarden can’t have saved his tires to until the end, and he stop in the pit when only 14 laps remains. The Indianapolis driver then attacks as much as he could and he reach a finally fifth place.

So, right now Will Power leads the championship by 39 points of distance with Helio Castroneves. Pagenaud is third ina 90 points of distance with the Team Penske driver


Pos. Car Driver Team Gap
1 12 Will Power AUS Team Penske 250 Laps
2 2 Juan Pablo Montoya COL Team Penske + 2,794
3 10 Tony Kanaan BRA Target Chip Ganassi Racing + 7,235
4 9 Scott Dixon AUS Target Chip Ganassi Racing + 18,050
5 67 Josef Newgarden USA Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing + 22,499
6 8 Ryan Briscoe AUS NTT Data Chip Ganassi Racing + 23,495
7 77 Simon Pagenaud FRA Schmidt Peterson Motorsports + 24,034
8 7 Mikhail Aleshin RUS Schmidt Peterson Motorsports + 1 Lap
9 20 Ed Carpenter USA Ed Carpenter Racing + 1 Lap
10 98 Jack Hawksworth GBR BHA / BBM with Curb-Agajanian + 1 Lap
11 3 Helio Castroneves BRA Team Penske + 1 Lap
12 11 Sebastien Bourdais FRA KVSH Racing + 1 Lap
13 25 Marco Andretti USA Andretti Autosport + 1 Lap
14 15 Graham Rahal USA Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing + 1 Lap
15 14 Takuma Sato JAP A.J. Foyt Enterprises + 2 Laps
16 83 Charlie Kimball USA Novo Nordisk Chip Ganassi Racing + 2 Laps
17 19 Justin Wilson GBR Dale Coyne Racing + 2 Laps
18 17 Sebastien Saavedra COL KV AFS Racing + 4 Laps
19 27 James Hinchcliffe CAN Andretti Autosport + 6 Laps
20 18 Carlos Huertas COL Dale Coyne Racing + 7 Laps
DNF 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay USA Andretti Autosport Mechanical
DNF 34 Carlos Muñoz COL Andretti Autosport – HVM Racing Contact