Callum Ilott has won the second race of the weekend in FIA ??Formula 3 European championship at Zandvoort Circuit Park, in the Netherlands. The Briton has led a podium completed by his compatriots, Hughes and Norris.

Tonight the stewards had a lot of work, as there were quite a few drivers who did not respect the yellow flags during the qualifying session. This meant that Lando Norris (Carlin) lost pole position in benefit of Callum Ilott (Prema Powerteam).

Ilott held the lead at the start of the race followed by Jake Hughes (Hitech GP), Lando Norris and Harrison Newey (Van Amersfoort Racing) who overtook David Beckmann (MotoPark).

It was not over to complete the first lap when a contact between Van Amersfoort Racing drivers, Joey Mawson and Pedro Piquet, caused the abandonment of the Brazilian and the safety car.

At the re-start, although many drivers tried to make manoeuvres, these would not happen. The only major change of the race was the drive through penalty given to Jehan Daruvala (Carlin) who had jumped the start.

Finally, after leading during the 22 laps of today’s race, Callum Ilott won his fourth win of the season and stops the 6 consecutive wins by Carlin.

Norris now leads the drivers’ championship standings in front of Maximilian Günther (Prema Powerteam) by one point. The two drivers are separated from Joel Eriksson (MotoPark) who is 30 points away, while Ilott cuts distances, he is 67 points behind.


1 Ilott 2 Hughes 3 Norris 4 Newey 5 Beckmann 6 Habsburg 7 Günther 8 Zhou 9 Schumacher 10 Aron 11 Mazepin 12 Eriksson 13 Andres Soori 14 Mawson 15 Makino 16 Daruvala 17 Vaidyanathan 18 Sato 19 Piquet