Helio Castroneves did the fastest time, setting a new record, 1:08.5540. Almost all drivers have beaten the old record of the circuit. The time table has been very closed, with 20 drivers in seven tenths of a second. Behind Helio, we find Alex Tagliani and Tristan Vautier (rookie), P4 Simon Pagenaud, P5 Will Power, P6 Scott Dixon, P7 EJ Viso, P8 AJ Allmendinger, P9 James Jakes, P10 Takuma Sato, P11 Justin Wilson, P12 Ryan Hunter-Reay, P13 Oriol Servià, P14 Dario Franchitti, P15 James Hinchcliffe, P16 Tony Kanaan, P17 Simona de Silvestro, P18 Charlie Kimball, P19 Marco Andretti, P20 Sebastien Bourdais, P21 Josef Newgarden, P22 Graham Rahal, P23 JR Hildebrand, P24 Ed Carpenter, P25 Sebastian Saavedra and P26 Ana Beatriz.

EJ Viso caused a red flag when remained 8 minutes for the end, after a little slide into the gravel. The session was restarted with only 2 minutes remaining.