Both G-Drive Racing and TDS Racing have decided to appeal to the FIA Court on the stewards ruling over the two teams’ disqualification from the 2018 Le Mans 24 Hours race in the FIA World Endurance Championship

The #26 G-Drive Racing outfit of Jean-Eric Vergne, Roman Rusinov and Andrea Pizzitola had won the LMP2 class while finishing fifth overall, but was disqualified from the race over a fuel restrictor issue on Monday.

The #28 TDS Racing of Loic Duval, Matthieu Vaxiviere and Francois Perrodo was also penalised as they lost its LMP2 third place finish. As a result, the #36 Signatech Alpine of Nicolas Lapierre, Pierre Thiriet and Andrea Negrao stands as the provisional winners.

The #39 Graff-SO24 Oreca of Vincent Capillaire, Jonathan Hirschi and Tristan Gommendy moved to second with the #32 United Autosports Ligier of Juan Pablo Montoya, Hugo de Sadeleer and Will Owen in third.

However, both the teams have decided that they will file an appeal against the ruling in a joint statement: “TDS Racing and G-Drive Racing appeal the decision of disqualification pronounced by the Stewards of the Race after the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

“#26 G-Drive Racing and #28 TDS Racing have decided to appeal the decisions of the stewards pronounced last Monday after the 24 Hours of Le Mans in front of the FIA International Court of Appeal.

“Both teams consider having at all times respected the applicable regulations and have been truly disappointed by the Stewards decision. They now wish to bring forward their arguments in front of the highest FIA Court.

“No further comment will be issued until the procedure is over,” it added.