The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile has today approved the homologation of the eight manufacturers that will provide powertrains to the 10 teams competing in the second season of the all-electric FIA Formula E Championship.

From the 2015/2016 season, which begins in Beijing on October 17, the series will become an open championship allowing manufacturers to pursue their own in-house innovations, beginning with the development of bespoke powertrains.

In order to limit costs and promote investment and innovation in the most important areas, the manufacturers’ scope is initially limited to the powertrain – specifically the e-motor, the inverter, the gearbox and the cooling system. All other parts on the cars will remain as they are, with the aim being to prevent costly aerodynamic developments.

Of the 10 teams, eight will utilise their own powertrains whilst Dragon Racing will partner with Venturi to run the French manufacturer’s powertrain and the re-named Team Aguri will remain with season one’s SRT01-e package.

The 10 teams will make their public debuts at the first official pre-season test at Donington Park on Monday, August 10.

FIA Formula E Press Release