Switching to the older format, the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship’s Qualifying 2 took place on Friday itself at Zandvoort with Motopark’s Daniel Ticktum taking pole for Race 2 and Race 3.

The British driver’s late lap of 1m28.779s displaced the Prema drivers with Ralf Aron (1m28.950s) finishing second and Mick Schumacher (1m29.011s) rounded out the Top 3. Ticktum also claimed pole for Race 3 on Sunday.

HitechGP’s Alex Palou (1m20.047s) slotted in fourth with Prema’s Marcus Armstrong (1m29.171s) and Guanyu Zhou (1m29.174s) in fifth & sixth respectively. Ferdinand Habsburg (1m29.190s) put Carlin in seventh.

Motopark’s Juri Vips (1m29.193s) was eighth leading teammate Marino Sato (1m29.205s) had a good run to be ninth as Prema’s Robert Shwartzman (1m29.225s) completing the Top 10. For Van Amersfoort Racing’s Sophia Floersch, it was a good run to be 19th.

Positions 11-24: Fabio Scherer, Nikita Troistkiy, Jonathan Aberdein, Jehan Daruvala, Sebastian Fernandez, Enaam Ahmed, Ben Hingeley, Sacha Fenestraz, Floersch, Julian Hanses, Artem Petrov, Keyvan Andres, Ameya Vaidyanathan and Petru Florescu.

Qualifying 3

Taking the second best time from Qualifying 2, as mentioned earlier Ticktum (1m28.938s) took pole with Vips (1m29.329s) finishing second from Troitskiy (1m29.409s) – the Russian claiming his best qualifying result in the rookie season.

The leading Prema was of Zhou (1m29.519s) in fourth with Scherer (1m29.597s) fifth ahead of Daruvala (1m29.660s), Sato (1m29.696s), Palou (1m29.782s), Habsburg (1m29.795s) and Aberdein (1m29.941s) completing the Top 10.

Position 11-24: Fernandez, Shwartzman, Ahmed, Floersch, Petrov, Andres, Aron, Schumacher, Florescu, Vaidyanathan, Hingeley, Fenestraz, Armstrong and Hanses.

[Read Also: Zhou leads Prema 1-2-3-4 for Race 1 pole]