Mick Schumacher led a dominant Prema pole for Race 1 in the 2018 FIA European Formula 3 Championship at Misano, leading his three teammates.

Carlin’s Jehan Daruvala led the way in Qualifying 1 of the Misano weekend from HitechGP’s Alex Palou at the halfway mark as the Prema drivers were spread out in the 22-driver field after Fortec pulled out of the weekend due to budgetary issues.

Things changed however by the end of the session as the Prema drivers started to put in some quick laps. Pole changed hands between Guanyu Zhou, Marcus Armstrong and Schumacher but the German driver had the last laugh.

His 1m27.934s time was enough to hand him his second pole of the season with Armstrong (1m27.953s) only 0.019s behind followed by Zhou (1m27.992s) and Robert Shwartzman (1m28.015s).

Motopark’s Dan Ticktum (1m28.020s) was fifth with the Top 5 separated by a mere 0.086s. Daruvala (1m28.067s) improved on his time but was only sixth from Motopark’s pair of Juri Vips (1m28.172s) and Jonathan Aberdein (1m28.177s).

The Top 10 was then completed by the last Prema driver Ralf Aron (1m28.224s) and Carlin’s Sacha Fenestraz (1m28.254s). None of the HitechGP cars made it inside the Top 10 with Enaam Ahmed the lead driver in 11th.

Position 11-22: Ahmed, Palo, Ben Hingeley, Marino Sato, Sebastian Fernandez, Ferdinand Habsbur, Fabio Scherer, Artem Petrov, Nikita Troitskiy, Sophia Floersch, Ameya Vaidyanathan and Keyvan Andres.