Marco Sørensen has won second GP2 race in Sochi, with Vandoorne and Nasr after him in podium. Canamasas, second during the whole race, had to retire with 9 laps left. Palmer and Leal lost a bunch of positions due to first lap incidents.

Danish Marco Sørensen hold first position until the end and was able to win second GP2 race this weekend. MP Motorsport driver was not into intense battles happening behind him all race long.

Sergio Canamasas, who was starting second, had today a good opportunity to clean his name after being criticized in Monza when disqualified for dangerous driving. Spanish driver lost second position with Vandoorne in first turn, but ART Grand Prix driver had to give the position back because of overtaking over track limits, as in first turn more drivers were outside of the track than in the track.

Canamasas hold second position all his race long, despite intense pressure from Vandoorne. But his car’s battery failed and he had to stop the car when nine laps were left. Bad luch for Trident driver.

First turn incidents, despite not making any car to retire, also bring problems to Palmer, who after being touched from behind he lost lots of positions. Despite this fact the british who yesterday won GP2 Series championship recovered until P12. Leal was affected too, but this was for winning an advantage out of the track. Having won five positions, when was given a drive-through penalty and exited in last place when he was fourth. “I had no chance!” shouted Carlin driver via team radio.

Marciello got Leal’s position, but a spin in last turn left him outside of the points. In last laps, a touch with Markelov made him lose car’s control and crashed into the wall, inducing Safety Car’s deployment.

Competition was recovered when three laps left with an intense fight for point positions. This allowed Nasr to get up to a podium which seemed to be Evans’, and Coletti was able to climb positions while others like Gasly or local driver Markelov, who was 12th, lost theirs.

Then, with just two Abu Dhabi’s races left and championship decided, GP2 Series say goodbye to a first in history exciting round in Russia.



Pos. Driver Team Gap Diff
1 Marco Sørensen SWE MP Motorsport After 21 Laps
2 Stoffel Vandoorne BEL ART Grand Prix + 1,3 + 1,3
3 Felipe Nasr BRA Carlin + 1,9 + 0,6
4 Mitch Evans NZ RT Russian Time + 3,2 + 1,3
5 – FL Arhur Pic FRA Campos Racing + 4,1 + 0,9
6 André Negrao BRA Arden International + 5,8 + 1,7
7 Kimiya Sato JAP Campos Racing + 7,1 + 1,3
8 Stefano Coletti MON Racing Engineering + 9,0 + 1,9
9 Nathanaël Berthon FRA Venezuela GP Lazarus + 11,0 + 2,0
10 Joylon Palmer GBR Dams + 11,5 + 0,5
11 Pierre Gasly FRA EQ8 Caterham Racing + 12,3 + 0,8
12 Artem Markelov RUS RT Russian Time + 13,2 + 0,9
13 Daniel Abt GER Hilmer Motorsport + 13,7 + 0,5
14 Tio Ellinas CYP Rapax + 14,4 + 0,7
15 Rio Haryanto IND EQ8 Caterham Racing + 14,7 + 0,3
16 Jon Lancaster GBR Hilmer Motorsport + 15,1 + 0,4
17 Julián Leal COL Carlin + 15,5 + 0,4
18 Stéphane Richelmi MON Dams + 15,9 + 0,4
19 Daniël de Jong NED MP Motorsport + 16,5 + 0,6
20 Sergio Campana ITA Venezuela GP Lazarus + 18,4 + 1,9
21 Takuya Izawa JAP ART Grand Prix + 18,6 + 0,2
22 Simon Trummer CHE Rapax + 26,2 + 7,6
23 Johnny Cecotto VEN Trident + 2 Laps
24 Raffaele Marciello ITA Racing Engineering + 5 Laps
25 Sergio Canamasas ESP Trident + 9 Laps
26 Rene Binder AUT Arden International + 19 Laps