The drivers were preparing to begin the practice session. Mechanics put the tuning to achieve the objectives of the practice.

The first driver to set a time was Sébastien Buemi, times were very unevenly over the top 10. Gradually the time set by Sébastien Buemi was being improved, it showed that the track was also improving gradually.

The drivers were adapting quickly to the urban layout of Putrajaya. Nelson Piquet Jr was provisionally leading the timesheets with a difference of one second over the second placed.

The drivers had adapted perfectly to the layout and some goals were scored by the teams. It was time to pit for another round to provide their times.

Missing 45 minutes to the end, there was very little activity on track, nearly all drivers were in the pits to improve the set-up of the car.

Sébastien Buemi was placed in first position provisionally while his teammate Nicolas Prost was second. The Dams team was doing a very good free practice.

Jerome D’Ambrosio was now placed in first position, improving every lap. For the Spanish drivers, Oriol Servia was in the third position and Jaime Alguersuari in thirteenth.

Michela Cerruti caused the first red flag in the urban layout of Putrajaya. The reason for the red flag was that Cerruti lost a wheel on the main straight.

With a lack of 10 minutes, the free practice session got resumed. The drivers were quickly out of their boxes to improve the set times.

Sam Bird improved markedly and was put back in first position, he improved the time of the Belgian driver Jerome D’Ambrosio for half a second.

Nick Heidfeld made a mistake and that caused the red flag in the absence of three minutes to go, but have finally decided not to resume the practice sessions.

01 2 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 20 1.21.496s
02 7 Jerome d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 19 1.22.043s +0.547s
03 9 Sébastien Buemi e.dams-Renault 17 1.22.256s +0.760s
04 6 Oriol Servia Dragon Racing 19 1.22.584s +1.088s
05 8 Nicolas Prost e.dams-Renault 21 1.22.674s +1.178s
06 5 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing 23 1.22.825s +1.329s
07 28 Mathew Brabham Andretti 19 1.22.961s +1.465s
08 27 Franck Montagny Andretti 10 1.23.287s +1.791s
09 99 Nelson Piquet China Racing 25 1.23.370s +1.874s
10 10 Jarno Trulli Trulli 12 1.23.414s +1.918s
11 21 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing 24 1.24.532s +3.036s
12 3 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin Racing 17 1.24.671s +3.175s
13 11 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 22 1.24.825s +3.329s
14 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 21 1.24.826s +3.330s
15 30 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 17 1.25.287s +3.791s
16 23 Nick Heidfeld Venturi 17 1.25.338s +3.842s
17 77 Katherine Legge Amlin Aguri 13 1.26.174s +4.678s
18 55 Antonio Felix da Costa Amlin Aguri 15 1.26.373s +4.877s
19 88 Ho-Pin Tung China Racing 22 1.26.620s +5.124s
20 18 Michela Cerruti Trulli 15 1.27.360s +5.864s