Max Defourny (R-ace GP) set the best time in the Formula Renault Eurocup collective tests at the Nürburgring. With a lap of 1:55.324, the Belgian led the way ahead of Sacha Fenestraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and his team mate Robert Shwartzman (R-ace GP). Red Bull Junior Team driver Daniel Ticktum (Arden Motorsport) was the quickest among the rookies.

Fenestraz in front of a R-ace GP trio

While Will Palmer (R-ace GP), Thomas Randle (AVF by Adrián Vallés), Alexander Vartanyan (JD Motorsport), Alex Peroni (Fortec Motorsports), Yifei Ye (Josef Kaufmann Racing) and Sacha Fenestraz all took turns at the top of the time sheet, Max Defourny took over and lowered the mark several times.

The Belgian was dislodged by Sacha Fenestraz 4 minutes form the chequered flag. The Frenchman dominated the first session with a lap of 1:55.983 to lead from Max Defourny, Will Palmer, Robert Shwartzman and the fastest rookie, Yifei Ye.

Defourny gets the last word

In the afternoon, Daniel Ticktum led early before answering the efforts of Robert Shwartzman, Sacha Fenestraz and Will Palmer. With 10 minutes left in the session, Gabriel Aubry (Tech 1 Racing) and Max Fewtrell (Tech 1 Racing) launched the final sprint before the response from Sacha Fenestraz.

Max Defourny did even better with a time of 1:55.324 to hold on in front of Sacha Fenestraz and Robert Shwartzman. The rookies Daniel Ticktum and Max Fewtrell completed the top five.

Renault Sport Press Release