Sophia Floersch will make a return to the FIA Formula 3 (F3) Championship for the 2023 season with PHM Racing by Charouz.

Sophia Flerrsch will make her return to FIA Formula 3 this season, signing with PHM Racing by Charouz the team has confirmed. It will be the first time since 2020 she has driven in the Championship.

Floersch has plenty of single-seater experience after her graduation from the Ginetta Junior Championship in 2016. She finished her first two seasons of ADAC Formula 4 19th and 13th before moving to European F3 in 2018. P7 in the Formula Regional European Championship by Alpine in 2019 led to her move to FIA F3 for 2020 with Campos Racing.

Since leaving F3, she has accumulated plenty of experience in sports cars, racing in the Le Mans 24 Hours in each of the last three years. She has also raced in DTM and the World Endurance Championship. Ahead of her return to F3, Floersch said that she was excited to be joining PHM and was looking forward to the challenge of the Championship in 2023.

“I am really excited and very happy to return to FIA Formula 3 this season with PHM Racing by Charouz. My goal has always been to race with the best of the best. Since the beginning of my career, I have been working very hard towards this goal every day with my team in the background.”

Team Manager Roland Rehfeld added that her experience and professional approach would only serve her well throughout the upcoming campaign. “I have lots of respect for Sophia’s decision to come back to Formula sports and to take the challenge in this competitive field. She is very experienced in professional Racing in various classes and has a very professional attitude and working style.

“The racing world so far helped her to become even more ambitious and focused than many other male drivers. That’s another fact, why we start with Sophia. With our new campaign as PHM Racing by Charouz, we will do our best to support her on her path to the top.”

2023 F3 line-up so far:

Trident: Gabriel Bortoleto, Oliver Goethe, Leonardo Fornaroli

Prema: Paul Aron, Dino Beganovic, Zak O’Sullivan

ART Grand Prix: Gregoire Saucy, Kaylen Frederick, Nikola Tsolov

Hitech GP: Gabriele Mini, Sebastian Montoya

MP Motorsport: Jonny Edgar, Mari Boya, Franco Colapinto

Van Amersfoort Racing: Rafael Villagomez, Tommy Smith, Caio Collet

Carlin: Hunter Yeany, Oliver Gray

Campos Racing: Christian Mansell, Pepe Marti, Hugh Barter

Jenzer Motorsport: Nikita Bedrin, Taylor Barnard, Alex Garcia

PHM Racing by Charouz: Sophia Floersch

[Note: The story is as per press release]