Tio Ellinas has grabbed pole position for race 1 at Silverstone with a time of 1:41:858, the only driver to go below 1:42 in this session. Matthieu Vaxivière lines up in second just 2 tenths shy of Ellinas, with the Fortec pair of Oliver Rowland and Jazemann Jaafar locking out the second row of the grid.


The Cypriot driver continued his excellent show of form after setting the quickest time in yesterday’s second collective test. For a time the question of who was going to get pole looked like it could be answered by many drivers: Rowland, Fantin, Dillmann or maybe home favourite Stoneman. However in the final laps no one could beat the time set by Ellinas, who went on to go even faster to secure pole.

Nick Yelloy, who has returned to the series this weekend, got stuck in the gravel early on in the session, bringing out the only red flag of the session. Fortunately for Yelloly the Lotus team were able to send him out again before the end of the session, allowing Nick to set a time that should see him on the grid.

Failing to qualify was Roy Nissany, who didn’t complete a lap throughout.


1 T. Ellinas Strakka Racing 1:41.858
2 M. Vaxivière Lotus WSR 1:42.094
3 O. Rowland Fortec Motorsports 1:42.184
4 J. Jaafar Fortec Motorsports 1:42.188
5 P. Fantin International Draco Racing 1:42.324
6 T. Dillmann Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:42.343
7 N. Latifi Arden Motorsport 1:42.487
8 N. De Vries DAMS 1:42.500
9 A. Panis Tech 1 Racing 1:42.514
10 G. Malja Strakka Racing 1:42.519
11 D. Stoneman DAMS 1:42.524
12 E. Orudzhev Arden Motorsport 1:42.773
13 B. Visser AVF 1:43.104
14 S. Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 1:43.380
15 B. Bonifacio International Draco Racing 1:43.494
16 A. Celis Jr AVF 1:45.545
17 W. Bratt Pons Racing 1:45.806
18 P. Armand Pons Racing 1:46.030
19 N. Yelloly Lotus WSR
20 R. Nissany Tech 1 Racing