A summary of how things panned out in Round 1 of the E1 Championship is here.

Round 1 of season two got off to a bang on Wednesday night. The 8-round season started in Interlagos, Brazil and we saw fireworks over the first two races. In race 1, Muhammad Ibrahim from India won from pole position with lighting lap times, especially in the opening laps of the race. Behind the Team Flash driver were Black Arts Racing duo, Josh Purwien and Luke Banister in second and third. The Aussie pit were unable to live with the pace of Ibrahim but were thankful to score good team points.

In the reverse grid race 2, we saw a huge startling crash after Tengku Djan Ley spun, taking out most of the field, including season zero and season one champions, Naquib Azlan and Muhammad Aleef respectively. Ibrahim managed to miss the mayhem and was up to second early in the race. However he clashed with Ariff Azmi while battling for the lead, which dropped him down the field. He would serve a drive through penalty later on, which would drop him completely out of the points, although he did bag two points for fastest lap.

At the front however Mikko Nassi from Finland would overtake long time leader Banister for the lead after the pit stops. However Banister was not done and soon closed back on to the tail of Nassi. And with three laps to go Banister tried to go around the outside of turn 4. The pair would touch, causing Nassi to spin out. It was ruled as a racing incident, and Banister would go on to take his first win in E1. Kalen Chin of Black Wolf DRS Wave would finish second with Purwien in third, making it an all Australian podium.

Black Arts now leads the teams championship with Banister and Purwien first and second in the drivers championship with Ibrahim third.

Here’s the announcement regarding E1 Championship

[Note: The above is as per press release with no edits made]