Scott Dixon has managed to break the hegemony of this year by Team Penske getting the first pole position of the season, the first by a driver who is not from that team. The winner of the 2008 Indy 500 will start first accompanied by Power and Pagenaud.


The classification of the Indianapolis 500 have been special for its 99th edition. After the suspension of the first day of qualifying yesterday because of the rain, the classification has been reduced to one day.

A day in which before the qualifying session Ed Carpenter (CFH Racing) suffered an accident at Turn 1, an accident at high speed, 380 km/h, where the native of Indianapolis came out unharmed. This has provoked a statement by the organization that have decided that the teams had to go to dispute the classification with race set for safety.

Besides the points that would have to grant depending on the final results would not be given as a measure of “security” as well.

The classification system of the “Indy 500” consists of 4 fastest laps completed by 33 drivers, of which the 9 fastest pass to the “Fast 9”, the ultimate struggle for P1 Award. This really was the usual system, which has not happened this time.

When all four drivers completed 33 laps, Scott Dixon got a dominant pole position, his second on the track, the winner of this race in 2008.

The front row is completed by Will Power and Simon Pagenaud, in the second row are Tony Kanaan, Helio Castroneves and Justin Wilson, the first Honda. In the third row are Sebastien Bourdais, the first American Marco Andretti and Josef Newgarden.

Fourth row: Hildebrand, Muñoz, Carpenter.

Fifth row: Servia, Kimball, Montoya.

Sixth row: Hunter-Reay, Rahal, Huertas.

Seventh row: Silvestro, Jakes, Vautier.

Eighth row: Tagliani, Karam, Hinchcliffe.

Ninth row: Daly, Bell, Sato.

Tenth row: Mann, Chaves, Saavedra.

Eleventh row: Hawksworth, Coletti, Clauson.