Antonio Felix da Costa delivered a sensational lap to secure pole position for the Faraday Future Long Beach ePrix.

The Team Aguri star had been second fastest in the group stages, but showed that the season one technology can still compete at the front by taking his and the team’s first pole position.

Sam Bird had been fastest in the group stage for DS Virgin, but couldn’t repeat the speed he’d shown earlier and will start second. Lucas di Grassi was third fastest for Abt Schaeffler, while Stephane Sarrazin produced a strong long to take fourth for Venturi.

Nick Heidfeld set a stunning first sector for Mahindra, but a scrappy rest of the lap left him back in fifth place.

A cautious lap from Sebastien Buemi in the opening qualifying group wasn’t good enough to get him into the Shoot-Out and he will line his Renault e.dams up in eighth. Robin Frijns was bumped out of the Shoot-Out in the final seconds, meaning the Andretti driver starts from a strong sixth.

Mexico ePrix winner Jerome D’Ambrosio was expecting a difficult session and so it proved. He’ll line up 10th, while his Dragon Racing team-mate Loic Duval will start from 18th and last after clouting the wall during his qualifying effort.

Defending champion Nelson Piquet Jr was 15th fastest for NEXTEV TCR, which means he’ll line up alongside two-time Long Beach Grand Prix Mike Conway, who starts 16th for Venturi.