The FIA revealed the calendar for the 2018/19 Formula E Championship with 13 races spread across 10 nations in the world starting with the inaugural race in Saudi Arabia in Riyadh on December 15, 2018.

Riyadh will be the only race to be staged in the year 2018 with the second round taking place in Morocco on January 12, 2019. The biggest change in next season’s calendar will see China hosting two separate rounds as opposed to a double-header.

The first Chinese race will take place in Hong Kong, which was this year’s opening round but it will become the fifth round in the 2018/19 season to be held on March 10, with the second event slated for March 23 – the venue for it is yet to be confirmed.

Along with the second Chinese race, the season’s Round 3 also doesn’t have a venue so far which will take place on January 26 – this year the race was held in Santiago, but logistical issues means the organisers will have to look for an alternative location.

The rest of the rounds in Mexico, Italy, France, Monaco, Germany, Switzerland and USA will return from the current season – with Monaco subjected to ‘circuit homologation’ and Switzerland subjected to ‘ASN approval, circuit homologation and city’s approval’.

Like this year, New York will host the season-finale as a double-header for the July 13-14 weekend.

2018/19 Formula Calendar:

December 15, 2018 – Saudi Arabia, Riyadh

January 12, 2019 – Morocco, Marrakesh

January 26 – TBA

February 16 – Mexico, Mexico City

March 10 – China, Hong Kong

March 23 – China, TBA

April 13 – Italy, Rome

April 27 – France, Paris

May 11 – Monaco

May 25 – Germany, Berlin

June 9 – Switzerland, Zurich

July 13-14 – USA, New York

Other changes confirmed for the 2018/19 season includes:

  • The details of the two levels of power that must be used during each race are now defined, with 200 kW available in normal mode and 225 kW in the higher power mode. The higher power mode will be activated when a driver passes through an activation zone, which will be visible on the circuit and on television. The number of activations and the duration of the use of the higher power mode will be determined at each race by the FIA, according to the individual features of the circuit.
  • Fanboost will only be available for deployment in high power mode, with a maximum additional energy of 100 kJ and power output of 250 kW.
  • The duration of the race will no longer be determined by the number of laps, but by a maximum time of 45 minutes plus one lap.