Marc Márquez had no competiton for the win today. The Catalan rider made no mistakes at the Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto and got his second consecutive win at the fourth round of the season. He started from P5 and climbed up to the lead, from where he cruised to the finish line for the win.

However, the main talking point of the race happened elsewhere. Pedrosa was racing against the Ducatis of Lorenzo and Dovizioso for second place. Taking advantage of Dovi’s overtake on Lorenzo, Pedrosa tried to join the party. However, Lorenzo didn’t see him and they all crashed.

This left Márquez completely alone at the front and Johann Zarco in a comfortable P2. The battle for P3, however, was quite intense. It was the Pramacs of Petrucci and Miller, together with Rossi’s Yamaha and Iannone’s Suzuki that fought for the last podium spot. It was finally the Suzuki Italian rider who’d steal third place from Petrucci in the final stages.

The disappointment of the day was for the Yamahas. They had no pace and they were very far from the expectations everyone has of the Japanese team. Thanks to the other incidents during the race, with Aleix Espargaró having a mechanical failure and Rins, Crutcholw, Abrahan and Luthi crashing, the Yamahas had a decent result with Rossi on P5 and Viñales on P7.

With only 18 drivers crossing the finish line, the KTM drivers had a surprising race outcome with the wildcar Mika Kallio finishing P10 ahead of official race riders Pol Espargaró and Bradley Smith.

An euphoric Marc Márquez celebrated his second win of the year with the famous #SwishSwishBish dance moves. He had a good reason for it, as his main championship rivals scored no points today. This situation leaves him ahead of everyone else on the scoreborad, 12 points ahead of Zarco and 20 ahead of Viñales.

The next round of the Moto GP championship will be the French GP at the Le Mans circuit in two weeks time.