Tom Blomqvist has taken the first pole position of the championship of FIA Formula 3 European Championship. The Frenchman Esteban Ocon who finished in second place, has taken the pole for Race 2.

By: Arnau Viñals Vendrell

The first qualifying of the season starts with the very first position of Richard Goddard (ThreeBond with T-Sport) but then the Italian, Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) sets a 8 tenth more faster time that the others, when every driver sets a lap time.

The track was getting better and better and Latifi (Prema Powerteam) took the lead before Verstappen (Van Amersfoort Racing) takes the top site followed by Antonio Fuoco (Prema Powerteam).

The times went down and Blomqvist (Jagonya Ayam Racing with Carlin) did another improvement in front of Ocon who was on P2 with 5 minutes to go.

So with 2 minutes to go Blomqvist leads followed by Ocon (Prema Powerteam), Fuoco, Verstappen and Serralles (Team West-Tec F3) on top 5.

At the end, Blomqvist and Fuoco comes into pits and Ocon stayed on track but He didn’t improve his lap time.

So, first pole position for Tom Blomqvist followed by Ocon, Fuoco, Verstappen, Serralles, King (Carlin), Jones (Fortec Motorsports), Latifi, Van der Laar (Prema Powerteam) and Lucas Auer (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsports).

Esteban Ocon takes the pole position for the second race.

We must to say also that Signature team powered by Renault engines will not take part on the sesason opener because Tatiana Calderon leaves the team.


Pos Name of the Drivers Nation Team Class Laps
1 31 Tom BLOMQVIST GBR Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 7
2 2 Esteban OCON FRA Prema Powerteam R 8
3 25 Antonio FUOCO ITA Prema Powerteam R 8
4 30 Max VERSTAPPEN NLD Van Amersfoort Racing R 9
5 21 Felix SERRALLES PRI Team West-Tec F3 9
6 5 Jordan KING GBR Carlin 8
7 6 Edward JONES ARE Carlin 8
8 1 Nicholas LATIFI CAN Prema Powerteam 9
9 26 Dennis VAN DE LAAR NLD Prema Powerteam 8
10 3 Lucas AUER AUT kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport 8
11 11 Richard GODDARD AUS ThreeBond with T-Sport 10
12 19 Antonio GIOVINAZZI ITA Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 9
13 14 Felipe GUIMARAES BRA Double R Racing 7
14 27 Felix ROSENQVIST SWE kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport 8
15 28 Jake DENNIS GBR Carlin R 8
16 7 Riccardo AGOSTINI ITA Eurointernational 8
17 9 Mitch GILBERT AUS Fortec Motorsports 9
18 16 Gustavo MENEZES USA Van Amersfoort Racing 9
19 10 John BRYANT-MEISNER SWE Fortec Motorsports 8
20 20 Sean GELAEL IDN Jagonya Ayam with Carlin 8
21 12 Alexander TORIL ESP ThreeBond with T-Sport 9
22 15 Jules SZYMKOWIAK NLD Van Amersfoort Racing R 10
23 4 Roy NISSANY ISR kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport 9
24 22 Hector HURST GBR Team West-Tec F3 9
25 8 Michele BERETTA ITA Eurointernational R 9
26 18 Tatiana CALDERON COL Jo Zeller Racing 8