Nikita Bedrin has taken his maiden victory of 2019 during the opening round of WSK Euro Series in OKJ. The Tony Kart driver dominated even the prefinal and the final in a very strong form. Ten Brinke and Day completed the podium in a photo-finish final. 

Prefinal A was a complete domination for Nikita Bedrin (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega). The Russian driver took the advantage from the battle for second position between Ugo Uguchukwu (FA Kart/Vortex/Vega) and Robert de Haan (Energy/TM Racing/Vega). Finally, it was De Haan who took the second position.

“Wilder” was prefinal B with race favorites not getting their access to the final. That was the case from Josep Maria Martí (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega) who received a contact from Hungarian Levente Revesz (Exprit/Vortex/Vega).

Also did not get the access to the final the prefinal B pole sitter, Conrad Laursen (FA Kart/Vortex/Vega) who crashed into Ricky Flynn team mate, Christian Ho (FA Kart/Vortex/Vega) who lost the control of his kart in the second sector.

Meanwhile up in front, James Wharton (FA Kart/Vortex/Vega) got the victory in front of Alex Dunne (Tony Kart/Vortex/Vega) and Jamie Day (Exprit/Vortex/Vega).

In the final, Nikita Bedrin immediately built a gap with his pursuers. The Russian was quicker than Robert de Haan who took second place but had to defend from the attacks of Thomas Ten Brinke (FA Kart/Vortex/Vega). The Dutch had more luck than his compatriot and teammate, Laurens Van Hoepen who crashed in the second lap of the race with Marcel Kuc (Parolin/TM Racing/Vega).

Another accident, that happened during the half-point of the race, was the one that Alex Dunne and Martinius Stenshorne were involved in the second sector, both drivers had to retire. Also, Maxwell Dodds (KR/Iame/Vega) retired afterwards.

Meanwhile, De Haan in second place had not enough pace and was overtaken by Thomas Ten Brinke with 5 laps remaining. A lap later, De Haan also lost the third place with Jamie Day even though the trio were driving together until the race checker-flag.

Nikita Bedrin with more than 3 seconds of distance won the race, behind him Ten Brinke had to defend from Jamie Day and De Haan but all three drivers kept their positions.

Closing the top 5, Alfio Spina (KR/Iame/Vega) who made an impressive weekend comeback after a poor qualifying practice, the Italian from Cetilar Racing had to comeback in all the heats and in the prefinal. A 10 positions comeback for Spina allowed him to complete a very good comeback performance.

In the championship standings, Berdin leaves Sarno with 49 points of distance from Robert de Haan. 51 points off is Thomas Ten Brinke while James Wharton is 52 points away from the Tony Kart driver.

The next round of WSK Euro Series will be held at the French circuit of ASK Angerville from 25th to 28th of April.