Ben Barnicoat has won the championship of the Formula Renault 2.0 NEC after today’s race was canceled due to fog. Louis Delétraz could not fight to earn the win.


The race that decided the championship began early, in Nürburgring covered by fog and a threat of fairly high rainfall, which has caused the delay of the activity; other than that the track was quite wet due to rain tonight. Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports) and Louis Delétraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing) were the men who were fighting for the championship. The Fortec who led by 13 points had everything ahead, despite starting from the fifteenth place. Instead the Josef Kaufmann Racing had the following options: win the race and Barnicoat finishing seventh, finishing second and Barnicoat fourteenth, finishing third and Barnicoat finishing fourth or finishing eighteenth and Barnicoat not score.


But after 40 minutes late, the organization has decided to cancel the race and awarded the championship to Ben Barnicoat.




1. Ben Barnicoat (Fortec Motorsports):

“I had an amazing year after a difficult start at Monza. I learned a lot this year as this was my first year to race in cars. But I started putting things together and moved up in the field. Having many podium finishes made my season sort of consistent which helped me. The mechanical error in Assen did cost me a lot of points. But we did not give up and with the win in Most it set me up to be up here. It has been an amazing rookie year and I have to give a massive special thanks to the Racing Steps Foundation, without whose help I would not have been able to be here and of course the team which looked after me so well.”


2. Louis Déletraz (Josef Kaufmann Racing):

“It was a good season. We won the team championship and I am very happy with my second place. I think I could have won the drivers championship but I will never know for sure with this cancelled race. I would have really liked to have raced this race as this was my last chance to fight for the top. This season I have learned a lot from my mistakes and look forward to next year. Many thanks to the team and all their hard work.”


3. Seb Morris (Fortec Motorsports):

“I had a very up and down season. It started ok but then I hit a rough patsch. At Hockenheim we lost nearly 60 points and had another disaster at Spa. But in general I scored the strongest points since Assen. I went from 9th to 3rd after Assen. Being third in the championship hopefully opens doors to me. I was lucky to have overtaken Schothorst yesterday as otherwise he would have been 3rd. I hope I have learned from my mistakes so not to repeat them. I want to thank the team for having done such a great job.”


Teammanager Lars Kaufmann (Josef Kaufmann Racing):

We won five races in total and three of my four drivers won races, so we had a very good season with second place for Déletraz, fifth for Malja and ninth for Tveter. Congratulations to Ben for winning the championship. Thank you to the organisation of the FR2.0 NEC and to my team for all the hard work they did.”


Drivers Championship Final Results:


Pos Driver Points
Nation Team
1  Ben Barnicoat GBR Fortec Motorsports 258
2  Louis Delétraz SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing 242
3  Seb Morris GBR Fortec Motorsports 224
4  Steijn Schothorst NED Manor MP Motorsport 224
5  Gustav Malja SWE Josef Kaufmann Racing 193
6  Ukyo Sasahara JAP Euronova Racing 191
7  Callan O’Keeffe RSA KTR 187
8  Jake Hughes GBR ART Junior Team 152
9  Ryan Tveter USA Josef Kaufmann Racing 150
10  Raoul Owens GBR Mark Burdett Motorsport 125
11  Stefan Riener AUT Speedfish-Racing 123
12  Matthew Graham GBR AVF 119
13  Kevin Jörg SWI Josef Kaufmann Racing 118
14  Andrea Pizzitola FRA Manor MP Motorsport 114
15  Levin Amweg SWI ART Junior Team 107
16  Josef Záruba CZE AVF 107
17  Alexander Albon THA KTR 88
18  Martin Kodri? CRO Fortec Motorsports 80
19  Aurélien Panis FRA ART Junior Team 77
20  Robin Hansson SWE Fragus BR Motorsport 75
21  Roy Geerts NED AVF 73
22  Julio Moreno ECU Manor MP Motorsport 62
23  Jules Gounon FRA AVF 54
24  Gregor Ramsay GBR KTR 43
25  Jorge Cevallos MEX Fortec Motorsports 32
26  Leopold Ringbom FIN PositiOne 31
27  Philip Morin SWE Manor MP Motorsport 25
28  Cédric Freiburghaus SWI Fragus BR Motorsport 24
29  Jakub Dalewski POL Euronova Racing 20
30  Phillip Hamprecht GER Inter Euro pol Racing 15
31  Ivan Matveev RUS Euronova Racing 10
32  Robert Siska USA Inter Euro pol Racing 8
33  Lassi Halminen FIN PositiOne 7
34  Danyil Pronenko UCR AS Motorsport by GSK 7
35  Andrea Baiguera ITA Brixia Horse Power 6
36  Harri Salminen FIN PositiOne 6
37  David Richert CAN Inter Euro pol Racing 6
38  Michele la Rosa ITA Euronova Racing 5
39  Inigo Bikuna SPA AVF 5
40  Max Biedermann GER Inter Euro pol Racing 4
41  Nicholas Surguladze RSA AVF 4
42  Salvatore De Plano ITA Euronova Racing 3