Lucas Auer won the third race weekend of the Formula 3 European on the Nurburgring. Tom Blomqvist and Max Verstappen accompanied him on the podium, while Esteban Ocon, championship leader had to leave in the first round.

Lucas Auer (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport) became the winner of the 27th season race of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship. In a tight battle, the Austrian came out on top from Tom Blomqvist (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and thus claimed the first win for his team kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport since the weekend at Pau, early May.

Max Verstappen (Van Amersfoort Racing), who was dropped ten places on the grid following an engine change and thus started twelfth, ended up third at the 3.629 kilometres long Nürburgring sprint circuit. In the FIA Formula 3 European Championship drivers’ standings, the 16-year-old Dutchman remains in second place behind Esteban Ocon (Prema Powerteam). The Frenchman already retired after a collision on the opening lap, but still has a 77 points’ lead from Verstappen, who recently was integrated into the Red Bull Junior Team.

The opening stage of the race already provided plenty of action with an accident in the first corner. Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and Esteban Ocon collided and spun. Nicholas Latifi (Prema Powerteam) couldn’t avoid the two cars and Dennis van de Laar (Prema Powerteam) damaged the rear of his car after contact with Latifi. After the incident, the safety car was deployed.

Racing resumed at the start of lap five. Lucas Auer took the opportunity and mounted an attack on Blomqvist, after which he was able to overtake him. On lap ten, the Austrian briefly had to slot in behind Blomqvist again, but he successfully countered straight away and claimed back the lead.

He defended his first place until the chequered flag was out. Behind Auer and Blomqvist, Max Verstappen kept Antonio Fuoco under pressure in the battle for third, but initially, the Italian stayed in front. Only two laps before the end, Verstappen managed to overtake Fuoco and bring home third place. Behind Fuoco, the protégé of the Ferrari Driver Academy, in fourth, Jordan King crossed the line to finish fifth.

The battle for the positions in the midfield was also highly entertaining. Roy Nissany (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport) attacked Félix Serrallés (Team West-Tec F3) several times and eventually managed to overtake the driver from Puerto Rico to finish sixth. Behind Serrallés, Tatiana Calderón (Jo Zeller Racing), the only lady racer in the field, took the flag in eighth place. Jake Dennis (Carlin) and Jules Szymkowiak (Van Amersfoort Racing) rounded out the top ten.


Pos. Car Driver Team Time
1 3 Lucas Auer kftzteile24 Mücke Motorsport 24 Laps
2 31 Tom Blomqvist Jagonya Ayam with Carlin + 0,476
3 30 Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Racing R + 3,623
4 25 Antonio Fuoco Prema Powerteam R + 4,945
5 5 Jordan King Carlin + 5,238
6 4 Roy Nissany kftzteile24 Mücke Motorsport + 17,415
7 21 Felix Serralles Team West-Tec F3 + 18,599
8 18 Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Racing + 19,434
9 28 Jake Dennis Carlin R + 20,175
10 15 Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Racing R + 20,770
11 20 Sean Gelael Jagonya Ayam with Carlin + 21,295
12 12 Alexander Toril ThreeBond with T-Sport + 23,088
13 16 Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Racing + 26,453
14 29 Santino Ferrucci Eurointernational R + 32,265
15 8 Michele Beretta Eurointernational R + 44,592
16 17 Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Racing + 45,316
17 11 Richard Goddard ThreeBond with T-Sport + 57,428
18 22 Wing Chung Cheng Team West-Tec F3 R + 1:01,300
DNF 27 Felix Rosenqvist kftzteile24 Mücke Motorsport + 5 Laps
DNF 2 Esteban Ocon Prema Powerteam R + 24 Laps
DNF 19 Antonio Giovinazzi Jagonya Ayam with Carlin + 24 Laps
DNF 1 Nicholas Latifi Prema Powerteam + 24 Laps
DNF 26 Dennis van de Laar Prema Powerteam + 24 Laps
DNC 6 Edward Jones Carlin R + 24 Laps