Lucas Auer secured the pole position for the first race of the DTM weekend at the Nürburgring in Germany. The Austrian will start ahead of Marco Wittmann and Robert Wickens after an exciting qualifying.

On a damp track, the drivers have fight for the pole position in the first 10 minutes with wet tires until the track was dry enough to roll with slick compounds.

Therefore the classification has been decided until the last three minutes in which the BMW of Timo Glock achieved a demolishing time of 1:29.278.

It was not until a minute before the end that his team-mate Marco Wittmann reduced the lap-time of pole position with a record of 1:28.011. But Lucas Auer (Mercedes) joined the party settinga time of 1:27.211 with 10 seconds remaining.

With the checkered flag, Glock improved Auer’s time by one tenth, but it would be Wittmann who with a time of 1:26.067 seemed to get pole position. This fact would not happen since Auer was the last to cross the finish line and reduce the pole position lap-time to 1:28.968

In the second row of the starting grid will be Robert Wickens and Augusto Farfus, who has been harassed by Jamie Green during his last fast laps.

Third row of the starting grid is for Paul Di Resta and Tom Blomqvist, followed by René Rast and Timo Glock. Top 10 finishers are completed with Maro Engel and Maxime Martin.


1 Auer 2 Wittmann 3 Wickens 4 Farfus 5 Di Resta 6 Blomqvist 7 Rast 8 Glock 9 Engel 10 Martin 11 Ekström 12 Rockenfeller 13 Paffet 14 Green 15 Spengler 16 Mortara 17 Müller 18 Duval