Oliver Askew has moved to FIA Formula E Championship from IndyCar with Andretti to complete its line-up for 2021/22 season.

Amid host of drivers linked with the seat, Andretti has announced Askew as its second driver alongside Jake Dennis for the 2021/22 Formula E season. The American returns to their fold after winning the 2019 IndyLights championship.

Askew raced with Arrow McLaren in IndyCar but was replaced by Felix Rosenqvist and since then has had handful of races in 2021 in the series. Andretti had several drivers linked to its seat especially with them having ran many youngsters in Road to Indy programmne.

But Andretti has signed Askew who will make his Formula E debut in 2021/22 season alongside Dennis. “I am beyond excited to return home and join Andretti Autosport full time again for the 2022 ABB FIA Formula E World Championship,” he said.

“I consider Andretti Autosport family and to be able to attack this chapter in my career with them means more than words can describe. To have a partner like Avalanche with us could not be a more perfect fit. Being the only confirmed driver to represent the United States in Formula E is something I am very proud of. I look forward to getting to work as soon as possible.”

At the same time, Michael Andretti added: “We’re happy to welcome Oliver back to the Andretti family to round out our Formula E driver lineup. We had a lot of success with Oliver back in 2019 when he won the Indy Lights Championship with us and we’re looking forward to introducing him to Formula E.

“He’s a hard worker and races smart, we’re confident he’ll apply that to this new opportunity. We’re also pretty excited to be able to field the first full-time American driver in such an exciting, international series.”

Formula E 2021/22 line-up so far:

Envision Racing: Robin Frijns, Nick Cassidy

DS Techeetah: Jean-Eric Vergne, Antonio Felix da Costa

Mahindra Racing: Alexander Sims, Oliver Rowland

Nissan: Sebastien Buemi, Maximilian Guenther

Jaguar Racing: Mitch Evans, Sam Bird

Dragon Penske: Sergio Sette Camara, Antonio Giovinazzi

Venturi: Lucas di Grassi, Edoardo Mortara

Porsche: Andre Lotterer, Pascal Wehrlein

Andretti: Jake Dennis, Oliver Askew

Mercedes: Nyck de Vries

NIO 333: Oliver Turvey