Fernando Alonso’s FA Racing has partnered with Drivex to take part in the Formula Renault Eurocup series in the 2019 season.

Renault Sport Racing has released the names of the 10 teams to take part in the 2019 Formula Renault Eurocup season which includes Formula 1 champion Alonso’s FA Racing outfit in partnership with Spanish team Drivex School.

Drivex was founded by former F1 racer Pedro de la Rosa and Miguel Angel and competes in the Euroformula Open Championship currently along with F4 Spanish Championship and also the International GT Open series.

FA Racing by Drivex is one of the three new teams along with BhaiTech Racing and M2 Competition as they join existing outfits R-ace GP, Josef Kaufmann Racing, JD Motorsport, Tech 1 Racing, AVF by Adrian Valles, Arden Motorsport and MP Motorsport.

New team owner Alonso said: “It’s a real honor to have FA Racing by DriveX pre-selected for the 2019 Formula Renault season. This series has provided some of my toughest competitors in F1 and this highlights its very high competitiveness level.

“After karting, e-sport and F4, Formula Renault is for FA Racing the logical step in our development. The arrival of the new car was the opportunity to start on the same level as all the teams and we are now eager to be on the starting grid to show what we are made of.

“On a more personal note, it is a great pleasure to continue my history with Renault.” The Spanish outfit has been competing in the F4 Spanish Championship since the 2017 season where it has already won races as it now graduates to the Eurocup level in 2019.