Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton topped the final practice session in Formula 1 Abu Dhabi GP from Ferrari duo of Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel.

In a fairly straightforward session, the 2018 F1 champion finally had the top spot to his name this weekend at Yas Marina Circuit as he led the way in FP3 from the Ferrari drivers with Red Bull Racing drivers close behind.

Hamilton did a 1m37.176s to Raikkonen’s 1m37.464s with Vettel in third after clocking a 1m37.587s. The Finn did the same as Hamilton on Friday when he crossed the white line at pit entry – for which he was put under investigation.

Red Bull’s Max Verstappen (1m37.747s) was fourth after complaining of power issues with Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas (1m37.933s) rounding the Top 5. Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo (1m38.090s) was sixth.

The Australian’s nightmare season continued when he had to stop at the side of the track with an issue with few minutes remaining in the session. Haas’ Romain Grosjean (1m38.304s) was the best of the rest in seventh.

The Frenchman had a late tangle with Toro Rosso’s Pierre Gasly on the approach to the Yas Viceroy hotel. Grosjean was slowing down with Gasly coming in fast in the sequence of corners. The two then touched with Gasly clearly miffed with the clash.

They were both out under investigation by the FIA stewards but the senior of the French driver came to Gasly’s garage to apologise for the incident after the session was over.

The Top 10, meanwhile, saw Renault’s Nico Hulkenberg (1m38.850s) and Carlos Sainz (1m38.970s) in eighth and ninth respectively with Racing Point Force India’s Esteban Ocon (1m39.011s) in 10th ahead of teammate Sergio Perez (1m39.053s).

While his teammate had the clash, Brendon Hartley (1m39.074s) did well in 12th from Sauber’s Charles Leclerc (1m39.282s) whose session had a bit of a hit when he crashed into the barrier which broke his rear wing on the exit of Turn 19.

Haas’ Kevin Magnussen (1m39.612s) was 14th with Gasly (1m39.740s) 15th, followed by McLaren’s Fernando Alonso (1m39.974s), Sauber’s Marcus Ericsson (1m39.997s), Williams’ Lance Stroll (1m40.117s), McLaren’s Stoffel Vandoorne (1m40.233s) and Williams’ Sergey Sirotkin (1m41.182s).