The names of the 10 teams to take part in the inaugural FIA Formula 3 Championship has been revealed.

The list has a mix of current FIA European Formula 3 Championship and the GP3 Series outfits. The series will be headed by the three championship-winning teams, Italy’s Prema Powerteam along with France’s ART Grand Prix and Britain’s Carlin.

From the European F3’s side, only Britain’s HitechGP has found a place along with Prema and Carlin. It means there is no place for the F3 powerhouse Netherlands’ Van Amersfoort Racing and Germany’s Team Motopark.

Meanwhile, from the GP3 side, the list features Spain’s Campos Racing, Switzerland’s Jenzer Motorsport, Netherlands’ MP Motorsport and Italy’s Trident. It means there is no place for Britain’s Arden International.

Making its Formula 3 debut will be Czech Republic’s Charouz Racing System which currently competes in the FIA Formula 2 Championship. The team making its single-seater racing debut all-together will be Germany’s HWA AG.

The team is already gearing up for its debut in the 2018/19 FIA Formula E Championship as it expands to single-seater competition alongside its rich touring car programme in Germany’s DTM series.

Along with the names of the teams, the series has revealed initial details regarding the plan of action. The newly designed car will be launched in the 2018 Formula 1’s season finale at Yas Marina Circuit in Abu Dhabi with each team to enter three cars each.

A shakedown will take place for the brand new car ahead of the official testing – the details of which will be announced at a later stage. The teams though will receive the car only in January 2019, thereby ruling out any chance of a test post the 2018 GP3 season.